The World’s Best Dad

“When I grow up I want to be just like you” is the phrase that I said as a joke, who to me in my eyes is the best dad in the world, my brother Hector.

This dedicated father of 3 boys –rare at this time- is a living example of what we need most in a society, a man who is dedicated in body and soul to his 3 offspring’s, whom if I could would be nominated for the World’s Best Dad .

The third of four brothers, a baseball fan, successful entrepreneur, coach of his second son’s baseball team, he travels once a month to Orlando to see his eldest son and on a daily basis he goes to see his two other children, who live just minutes away from his residence.

At an early age he learned that actions have consequences, which he assumed like a man, although these have taken him to the top of the mountains and to valleys of loneliness.

I had never met in my life, a man with an innate sense of being a father, but make no mistake; this young man at the end of this year turns 30, disciplines firmly, pleases with tenderness and loves deeply who will be his best legacy in this world.

In turn I can not speak of noble parents, intelligent character, humble, gentle and loving, characteristics that describe my brother; not to mention others who also have been examples to admire, such as my father and my grandparents, who were a role model and who helped me become the person who I am today.

Also I can not carry on without missing this opportunity to nominate others who have my total admiration, one is Alfredo Alicea, a Puerto Rican, at an early stage of his life he was blessed to be a father and a few years later he was faced with a difficult situation, the mother of his eldest daughter lost a battle with cancer and his daughter took refuge in the arms of her Dad.

It was very hard for his daughter and a new beginning for him, although it has been years of great new experiences and challenges, I take my hat off to a parent who has been able to provide, love and gives a great example of what it takes to be the World’s Best Dad.

The third and final nominee for the best dad in the world award is Hiram Ramos, who I wish to honor and recognize and who in life was the father of three beautiful creatures.

This special being, took pride in himself to be present in the lives of his children, even if he was hours away. He also lived passionate with sports, very loving with his family, loved very much at work, since he was given at birth the people skills, a true believer that everything happened for a reason and in everything that would happen to him he always saw a positive side.

This exemplary father had a dream which he spoke off every day, a simple one, of retiring to care of his last born who was only 3 years old, to take him to school during the week and then in the afternoons teach him ports.

Unfortunately his dream was cut short by what I think to be the virus of the 21st century, cancer, he is not physically present but his legacy remains in the minds of his children and of course in the heart of his faithful wife, who reminds her child daily of what were the values,teachings and stories of who to me is the epitome of being the best dad in the world.

To date I have not been privileged to have the title of being a father, but this weekend where we celebrate Father’s Day, I urge you to make a stop to what you’re doing and recognize, if you can anyone who might be nominated to be the best dad in the world.

It needs not to be only your father, but it would be a good idea but I’m also talking about your godfather, uncle, grandfather, neighbor, friend or just you’re a co-worker, who on the contrary to what one hears on the news daily, are fulfilling their role as a father.

By recognizing each of these special beings, we are helping to create role models for our nephews, brothers and friends which we need so much.

One thought on “The World’s Best Dad

  1. Norma

    My Father influenced me in so many positive ways, but the ways I think of most are his Family Values, Hard-Work Ethic, Love for People, Caring, and Fun Attitude, which unfortunately I did not inherit but, I did inherit his Love for life. My Father, he was there when I didn’t understand, he was there when I was wrong, he was there when I cried, and he was there when I lied. For some reason my dad was always there when I needed him the most. His love was never ending. As hard as my Dad worked, he still knew how to have fun. He has the best sense of humor and, still to this day, is always making us laugh. Not only was he all of these things above, but he is also so full of love and kindness. I’ve never, to this day, met someone who didn’t love my dad. He just has that effect on people.

    Today people still have fond memories of his charm, and sense of humor. He was old school when it came to pain. He denied it existed. When he was diagnosed with terminal cancer in 1993, he asked not to be placed on life support; he had peace with God and No Fear. I truly feel I have the greatest Father on Earth. The only thing that I regret to this day is not telling him how much I loved him and that he was the greatest!
    Not only was he all of these things above, but he is also so full of love and kindness. I’ve never, to this day, met someone who didn’t love my dad. He just has that effect on people.

    So today I urge you not to let one day pass you by without telling your love ones, I love you!

Leave a Reply

